Heritage Network

The HERITAGE NETWORK aims to strengthen higher education cooperation (research and training) between Europe and India in the field of Engineering Sciences: exchange of expertise, organization of scientific workshops, joint participation in international projects, implementation of joint training programmes and development of joint research projects as well as scientific diplomacy.


  • Create a research and education network focused on Engineering, Science, Design and Technology, comprising HEIs from Europe and India.
  • Contribute to the mutual enrichment of societies by developing the qualifications of men and women so that they possess the appropriate skills, particularly in regards to the labour market, as well as further develop an open-mindedness and enhance their international experience.
  • Develop academic and research exchanges between partners institutions, and foster high level educational programmes in Engineering, Sciences, Design and Technology between Europe and India.
  • Organize yearly workshops on scientific and technical topics of mutual interest.
  • Promote mobility both for students and researchers as well as for academic and administrative staff between European and Indian institutions.
  • Promote bilateral mobility agreements (for courses, thesis work, internships, double degree programmes) among the member universities.
  • Facilitate the creation of joint programmes among European and Indian institutions in the field of Engineering Sciences, Design and Technology.
  • Be a reference for the European and Indian governments and gain influence in higher education and research cooperation internationalization policies

13 European members :

  • Université Libre de Bruxelles (ULB), Belgium
  • Czech Technical University in Prague (CTU), Czech Republic
  • Tallinn University of Technology, (TalTech), Estonia
  • Ecole Centrale de Nantes (ECN), France
  • Technische Universität Dresden (TUD), Germany
  • Politecnico di Milano (Polimi), Italy
  • Univerisity of Genoa (UniGe), Italy
  • Warsaw University of Technology (WUT), Poland
  • Instituto Superior Técnico (IST), Lisbon, Portugal
  • Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya (UPC), Barcelona, Spain
  • Universidad Politécnica de Madrid (UPM), Spain
  • Universidad de Sevilla (US), Spain
  • Royal Institute of Technology (KTH), Stockholm, Sweden

15 Indian members :

  • Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore
  • Anna University, Chennai
  • Indian Institute of Technology Madras (IITM), Chennai
  • Indian Institute of Technology of Delhi (IITD)
  • Indian Institute of Technology (Indian School of Mines) Dhanbad
  • Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati (IITG)
  • Indian Institute of Technology Indore (IITI)
  • Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur (IITK)
  • Indian Institute of Technology Bombay (IITB)
  • Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee (IITR)
  • Indian Institute of Technology of Ropar, (ITTRPR)
  • Indian Institute of Technology Tirupati (IITT)
  • National Institute of Technology Karnataka, Surathkal (NITK)
  • National Institute of Technology Rourkela (NITR)
  • National Institute of Technology Warangal (NITW)
Published on February 7, 2019 Updated on October 13, 2020